Earlier this year, Empire Of The Sun and The Sleepy Jackson’s Luke Steele revealed new project H3000 alongside Charli XCX and Lana Del Rey collaborator Jarrad Rogers, and today the duo have announced their debut album.

The self-titled effort will drop on September 17, with Steele and Rogers today releasing another single from the project, Running, alongside a stunning music video.

Check out Running below.


The concept of the project, as Steele told The Green Room podcast this week, is “great songs bent into a gender-warped future of the year 3000”.

“I love pop music – I love the sonics of pop music,” Steele told podcast host Neil Griffiths.

“[Jarrad] has got a lot of flair with his production. We connected on the intricacies as well.”


During the episode, Steele also spoke about the impact COVID has had on Empire Of The Sun, revealing that fans are going to have to wait a little longer for any new music from the Australian duo. 

While Nick Littlemore revealed last year during an appearance on The Green Room that "quite a lot of work" had been completed on a forthcoming album - the first since 2016's Two Vines - it appears that the COVID-19 pandemic has halted plans to release new music. 

Steele said it's unlikely any new Empire Of The Sun music will come out this year or next.

"There's a lot of stuff but we just struggle so much with Zoom writing and it's always been such a 'in the room' kind of tangible band where you sort of run on the spirit of what's happening. 

"It's kind of funny like that. We tried to entertain some things, but it just didn't really work.

"It's funny, when it's not in sync it just feels like you're painting over a wall that keeps drying a different colour.”

Listen to the full The Green Room podcast with Steele on Spotify (below), Apple Podcasts or wherever you listen to your favourite podcasts.