A brand new live music TV series is set to launch on Aussie screens this weekend.

The Sound - put together by the team behind the Music From The Home Front and The State Of Music series - will premiere this Sunday (19 July) at 5.30pm and will "shine a light on some of our country’s finest musicians and songwriters, via exclusive pre-recorded live performances, collaborations and artist interviews".

The series will be hosted by Recovery legend Jane Gazzo and also feature Double J Mornings host Zan Rowe, while the first episode will also see Aussie actor Bryan Brown appear as a special guest.

This Sunday viewers will get a sneak peak of Nick Cave's forthcoming Idiot Prayer: Nick Cave Alone At Alexandra Palace performance, as well as DMA'S, Mark Seymour & The Undertow, Lime Cordiale, Eskimo Joe, Benee, Jerome Farah and Kate Ceberano, Steve Kilbey & Sean Sennett.

"I’m incredibly excited to realise my dream to see a music show featuring contemporary Australian music in a prime spot on free-to-air television," Mushroom's Michael Gudinski said.

"The Sound will feature artists from all walks of our incredible local industry, with more than two thirds of each episode focused on showcasing new songs.

"I’m thrilled that ABC, the home of iconic programs like Countdown, Recovery and rage, have partnered with us to support local music in such difficult times.”

Nick Cave


Mark Seymour & The Undertow

Lime Cordiale

Eskimo Joe


Jerome Farah

Kate Ceberano

Steve Kilbey

Sean Sennett