The J Awards are back in 2019, today unveiling a stellar nominations list including some of Australia’s finest emerging and established acts. 

The awards, which are a triple j and Double J initiative held during Ausmusic Month, also includes a new category this year, dubbed You Done Good. 

The category will award a person who has made “an impact on the industry through outstanding achievement, social change or altruistic endeavours”, with the inaugural nominee list including the National Indigenous Music Awards, Dylan Alcott, Cloud Control’s Heidi Leffner, Sarah Aarons and Boy & Bear’s Harry The Poo Roadie. 

The awards will be presented by triple j hosts Veronica and Lewis on Thursday 21 November at 4pm. See the full list of nominees below. 

You Done Good

Dylan Alcott
For making music accessible to everyone at Ability Fest

Harry The Poo Roadie
For putting his life on hold to rescue one of Australia’s most loved bands via faecal donations

Heidi Leffner
For launching renewable energy initiative FEAT.

National Indigenous Music Awards
For championing incredible Indigenous artists at their biggest event yet

Sarah Aarons
For a stand-out year co-writing multiple global hits for Khalid, Ruel, Peking Duk and more

triple j Australian Album of the Year

G Flip 
About Us


Hayden James
Between Us

Hilltop Hoods
The Great Expanse

Holy Holy
My Own Pool Of Light

Matt Corby
Rainbow Valley


Sampa The Great
The Return

Stella Donnelly
Beware Of The Dogs

Thelma Plum
Better In Blak

Double J Artist of the Year

Julia Jacklin

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard

Nick Cave

Sampa the Great

The Teskey Brothers

Unearthed Artist of the Year

Adrian Eagle

George Alice

Spacey Jane

The Chats

Tones & I

triple j and Rage Australian Music Video of the Year

Life Is Incredible {Feat. Greg Holden}
Director: Dylan River

Hi This Is Flume
Director: Jonathan Zawada

Sampa The Great
Final Form
Director: Sanjay De Silva

The Chats 
Identity Theft
Director: Matt Weston

Thelma Plum
Better In Blak
Director: Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore