The Music Victoria Awards nominations have been announced this afternoon, with some of the state's finest artists picking up a stack of nods.

Sampa The Great, The Teskey Brothers (who scored seven ARIA Award nominations this morning), Tropical Fuck Storm and Gordon Koang (who recently picked up the Levi's Music Prize at BIGSOUND) have all secured a whopping five nominations each. 

DRMNGNOW and Amyl & The Sniffers have picked up four noms each, while Angie McMahon has secured three. Baker Boy, Alex Lahey, Courtney Barnett, Kaiit, Briggs, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard and Cool Out Sun are also among this year's nominees. See the full list of nominees below.

This year's nominees are in the running to pick up a stack of prizes, including a $3,000 grant for Best Song from APRA AMCOS, a $2,000 grant and mentorship for the winner of the Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent, while Bakehouse Studios offers all nominees a rehearsal/pre-production package. This year sees new event partner Lyrical Road offer a $5,000 prize pack for Best Live Act.

In addition to the nominations, it's also been announced that artists Vika & Linda Bull and community radio station PBS will be honoured as this year's Hall Of Fame inductees.

"Music Victoria recognises the deep contributions both PBS 106.7FM and Vika and Linda Bull have made to the fabric of Victorian music and culture and is proud to present them both as Inductees to the Music Victoria Awards Hall of Fame in 2019,’’ said Music Victoria executive producer Patrick Donovan.

The publicly voted award categories are now open and will close on 8 November at midnight. This year's Music Victoria Awards will take place at the Melbourne Recital Centre on 20 November. 

Public Voted Awards

Best Album
Amyl & The Sniffers - Amyl & The Sniffers
Angie McMahonSalt
Gregor - Silver Drop
On Diamond - On Diamond
The Teskey Brothers - Run Home Slow

Best Band
Amyl & The Sniffers
Cash Savage & The Last Drinks
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
The Teskey Brothers
Tropical Fuck Storm

Best Song
Briggs - Life Is Incredible (feat. Greg Holden)
Cash Savage & The Last Drinks - Good Citizens
Gordon Koang - Stand Up (Clap Your Hands)
Sampa The Great - Final Form
The Teskey Brothers - So Caught Up

Best Solo Artist
Alex Lahey
Angie McMahon
Baker Boy
Courtney Barnett
Gordon Koang
Palm Springs
Sampa The Great 

Best Male Musician
Davey Lane
Gareth Liddiard (Tropical Fuck Storm)
Gordon Koang
Stu Mackenzie (King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard)
Paul Kelly

Best Female Musician
Angie McMahon
Courtney Barnett
Erica Dunn (Tropical Fuck Storm, Palm Springs, Harmony)
Romy Vager (RVG)
Sampa Tembo (Sampa The Great)

Best Breakthrough Act
Gena Rose Bruce
G Flip
Gordon Koang
Tones & I

Best Live Act
Amyl & The Sniffers
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Sampa The Great
Tropical Fuck Storm

Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity)
The Gasometer Hotel, Fitzroy
Howler, Brunswick
Northcote Social Club, Northcote
The Old Bar, Fitzroy
The Tote Hotel, Collingwood

Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity)
Corner Hotel, Richmond
The Croxton Bandroom, Thornbury
The Forum, Melbourne
Hamer Hall, Southbank
Melbourne Recital Centre, Southbank


Best Festival
Boogie Festival
Golden Plains
Meredith Music Festival

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Act
The Kite Machine
Maya Rose
The Teskey Brothers

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Over 50 gigs per year)
The Bridge Hotel, Castlemaine
Caravan Music Club, Bentleigh East
Karova Lounge, Ballarat
Sooki Lounge, Belgrave
Theatre Royal, Castlemaine

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Under 50 gigs per year)
Barwon Heads Hotel, Barwon Heads
The Bridge Hotel, Bendigo
Malt Shed, Wangaratta
Meeniyan Town Hall, Meeniyan
Ulumbarra Theatre, Bendigo

Archie Roach Foundation Award For Emerging Talent
Allara Briggs Pattison
Kalyani & Isha
Key Hoo
Robert K Champion

Best Blues Album
Anna Scionti - Orphan Diary
Catfish Voodoo Cookin’ With…
Julian James - Silver Spade
Opelousas - Opelousified
TK ReeveI Wanna Feel Good

Best Country Album
Kate Alexander + Hana Brenecki - Don’t You Have Better Things To Do?
Matt Joe GowBreak, Rattle & Roll
Mick Thomas’ Roving Commission - Coldwater DFU
Nathan Seeckts - The Heart Of The City
Sean McMahon - You Will Know When You’re There

Best Electronic Act
DJ Plead
Rings Around Saturn
Sui Zhen

Best Experimental or Avant-garde Act
Cat Hope
CORIN (Corin Ileto)
Diimpa (William Elm)
Naretha Williams
Uboa (Xandra Metcalfe)

Best Folk or Roots Album
Cat & Clint - The Days That Used To Be
Lucie Thorne - KITTY & FRANK
The Maes - The Maes
Roolya Boolya - Running To You
The Teskey Brothers - Run Home Slow

Best Heavy Album
Blackhelm - Dark Clouds Of The Inferno
Religious Observance - Utter Discomfort
Suldusk - Lunar Falls
Uboa - The Origin Of My Depression
Vexation - Journey Beyond Mortality

Best Hip Hop Act
Cool Out Sun
Sampa The Great

Best Intercultural Act
Cool Out Sun
Gordon Koang
Iaki Vallejo
The Public Opinion Afro Orchestra

Best Jazz Album
Adam Simmons - The Usefulness Of Art
Adam Spiegel Melancholiac
Andrea Keller - Transients Vol. 1
Spirograph StudiesKindness, Not Courtesy
Various Artists - Sunny Side Up

Best Reggae & Dancehall Act
Echo Drama
Jah Tung
Quashani Bahd
The Shottaz
Yaw Faso

Best Rock/Punk Album
Amyl & The Sniffers - Amyl & The Sniffers
Stonefield - Bent
Tropical Fuck Storm - Braindrops
V So Pure

Best Soul, Funk, Gospel or RnB Album
Allysha Joy - Acadie: Raw
Clever Austin - Pareidolia
Cool Out Sun - Cool Out Sun
Laneous - Monstera Deliciosa
The Putbacks - The Putbacks