Celebrating women’s contributions and achievements across all areas of the Australian music industry, the 2019 Australian Women In Music Awards has seen Christine Anu, Mojo Juju, Alice Skye and more receive accolades.

This evening’s event, held at Brisbane Powerhouse, was the second of its kind in Australia, with Anu picking up both the Diversity In Music Award and Artistic Excellence Award, while Skye claimed the Emerging Artist Award and Mojo Juju took home the Songwriter Award for her third album, Native Tongue.

The ceremony also featured a special tribute to 2019 AWMA Honour Roll inductee Judith Durham of The Seekers, performed by Creative Leadership winner Katie Noonan alongside Jess Green, Zoe Hauptmann And Ali Foster, while the Lifetime Achievement Award went to country music legend Joy McKean.

“The Palaszczuk Government celebrates women and girls, who are integral to the depth, vitality and success of the Australian music industry,” Queensland Minister For Women Di Farmer said.

“They are creators and makers of art which has delighted audiences both at home and abroad. Despite this, women still experience disadvantage in the music industry, and female artists earn less in general than their male counterparts. 

“I congratulate the Australian Women In Music Awards for turning the spotlight on women and girls in the music industry.”


The Calile Hotel Artistic Excellence Award

Christine Anu

Scenestr Creative Leadership Award

Katie Noonan

SSI Diversity In Music Award

Christine Anu

AWMA Emerging Artist Award

Alice Skye

AWMA Excellence In Classical Music Award

Caroline Almonte

Sun Studios Excellence In Image Making Award

Melaine Knight

Canon Australia Film Maker Award

Tashi Hall

Cicada International Humanitarian Award

Dami Im

AWMA Lifetime Achievement Award

Joy McKean

Frontier Touring & Chugg Entertainment Live Production Award

Laurie May

Twitter Australia Music Journalist Award

Ange McCormack

AWMA Music Leadership Award

Sue Telfer

Canon Australia Music Photographer Award

Tashi Hall

GOA Studio Production Award

Virginia Read

APRA AMCOS Songwriter Award

Mojo Juju