The first round of acts who will compete against each other for a chance to represent Australia at Eurovision 2019 have been revealed. 

Following the news in October that the local contestant and song will be picked by the public with the first ever Eurovision: Australia Decides event, Sheppard, Kate Miller-Heidke, Mark Vincent and Electric Fields have been unveiled as the first four of ten participants.

The event will take place on the Gold Coast from 8-9 February and broadcast nationally on SBS with the winner to represent Australia at the global singing contest next May in Israel. 

“I’ve never done anything like this before," Miller-Heidke said.

"I do feel vulnerable putting myself out there in a competitive setting. I’m trying to ignore that element, and thinking of it as a very eclectic celebration of Australian music. I think there will be a lot of solidarity amongst the performers.”

Sheppard added that they are "excited at the prospect of representing Australia in what feels like the pop music Olympics".

"The fact that this is the first time the show has ever taken part in Australia and letting the public decide who gets to go to the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 is really exciting for us," the Brisbane outfit said.

"It will be an historic television event that we look forward to being a part of!"

Tickets to attend Eurovision: Australia Decides are on sale now. 

Guy Sebastian was the first to represent Australia at the global singing competition in 2015, followed by Dami Im in 2016, Isaiah Firebrace in 2017 and Jessica Mauboy this year.