South Australia has had a fine year in music and last night's SAM Awards certainly proved that. 

Rock group West Thebarton were the big winners of the evening, taking out four awards, including Best Group, Best Song for Bible Camp and Best Release for Different Beings Being Different, as well as winning Best Rock Artist in the People Choice's category.

BIGSOUND buzz acts MANE and Adrian Eagle have taken out Best Solo Artist and Best New Artist respectively, and last year's big winners AB Original have won the award for Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Artist Award for their track Blaccout.

"The South Australian Music Awards showcase the very best of our music scene and demonstrate why it’s in such fantastic shape," said General Manager of Music SA, Lisa Bishop

"West Thebarton has had an incredible year: a truly local band that’s broken through around the country and internationally. Meanwhile, we have solo artists like MANE and Adrian Eagle who are really doing great things and we can also celebrate the ongoing success of last year’s winners AB Original.”

"This year’s edition of the SAM Awards was a joyous and a warm affair – certainly much more of a celebration than a contest," noted The Music's Gavin de Almeida.

"There was no denying that the night belonged to West Thebarton, who have grown to become one of the most promising Australian rock acts. The band finished out the night with no less than three songs, capping off a remarkable, emotional and memorable evening."

Congrats to all the winners, check out the full list below. 

Best Song
Presented by APRA AMCOS
West Thebarton – Bible Camp

Best New Artist
Adrian Eagle
Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Artist
Presented by Nexus Arts
A.B. Original
Best Group
West Thebarton
Best Solo Artist
Best Release
Presented by The Music
West Thebarton – Different Beings Being Different
Best Studio
Ghostnote Recording Studio
Best Engineer
Mario Spate
Best Music Festival / Event
Presented by Moshtix
A Day of Clarity (Clarity Records)
Best Music Venue
Presented by AHA (SA Branch)
Crown & Anchor Hotel
Best Manager

Presented by Dept. for Industry and Skills
Craig Lock
Best Cover Art
Presented by VERSION • Design + Brand + Digital
Neon Tetra (Jack Fenby)
Best Music Video

Presented by Channel 9
Mallrat – Better
(Rory Pippan – Young Black Youth)
UNESCO International Collaboration Award
Presented by UNESCO: City of Music
Zephyr Quartet 
Music SA Lifetime Achievement Award
Presented by Music SA
Tam Boakes 
Ryan Freemen Live Music Achievement Award
Presented by Roger Freemen
Max Savage  
Presented by The Gov
Ollie English
Presented by The Grace Emily Hotel
The Heggarties
Presented by Fresh 92.7
Presented by Ghostnote Studios
Abbey Howlett
FOLK Artist
Presented by Wheatsheaf Hotel
Laura Hill
HEAVY Artist
Presented by Underground Records
Dirty Pagans &
Hidden Intent
HIP HOP Artist
Presented by Northern Sound System
Tkay Maidza
JAZZ Artist
Presented by Elder Con
Adam Page
POP Artist
Presented by Fat Controller
Heaps Good Friends
PUNK Artist
Presented by Three D Radio
Young Offenders
ROCK Artist
Presented by Crown and Anchor Hotel
West Thebarton
Presented by WOMADelaide
The Coconut Kids

The Weathered Headz, Stabbitha & The Knifey Wifeys, West Thebarton
Crown & Anchor, Adelaide
Mercs, Zen Panda, West Thebarton
Crown & Anchor, Adelaide
Festival Of The Sun
Sundowner Breakwall Tourist Park, Port Macquarie
Falls Festival - Lorne
Lorne, Lorne
Falls Festival - Marion Bay
Marion Bay, Marion Bay
Falls Festival - Byron Bay
The Farm Byron Bay, Ewingsdale
Falls Festival - Fremantle
Fremantle Oval Precinct, Fremantle