The first-ever Australian Women in Music Awards (AWMA) were presented at the Brisbane Powerhouse last night with the aim of celebrating "the leadership, achievements and musicianship of some of our most outstanding women in Australia's music industry".

The night featured live performances from Kate Ceberano, Katie Noonan, Kween G, Merenia Marin, Adalita, Lou Bennett (Tiddas), Sophie Koh, Zoe Hauptmann, Gordi, Ancestress, Emily Wurramara and a reunion performance by Do Re Mi featuring musical icons Deborah Conway and Helen Carter

Fourteen awards were presented with the winners decided by a jury of industry professionals and practitioners.

Recognising both her achievements as a singer-songwriter and her work as an activist through her contribution to the women's movement, Helen Reddy, was the first inductee into the AWMA honour roll last night. 

Speaking proudly about the success of the inaugural event, AWA founder and director Vicki Gordon said, “Congratulations to all of tonight’s winners and finalists and a huge heart felt thank you to everyone who has believed in AWMA and the possibility for change.

"This evening we have celebrated and acknowledged the value of women across all areas of the Australian Music Industry. I am proud that AWMA has created a powerful platform to build a meaningful conversation about inclusivity, diversity and equality.” 

Queensland Minister for Women, Di Farmer shared Gordon's sentiment saying she "congratulate[s] the Australian Women in Music Awards committee for their work towards encouraging more girls and women in to the music industry”. 

 “Women make up almost half of Australians with a music qualification and half of those studying music – yet only one-fifth of songwriters are women,” she said. 

“Women hold only 28 per cent of senior and strategic roles in key industry associations, and female artists earn less in general than their male counterparts. 

Check out all the winners below. 


APRA AMCOS Songwriter Award 

Recognises a female songwriter or composer who has made extraordinary impact nationally and/or internationally in the past 12 months. 

WINNER - Gordi (Sophie Payten) 

SHEBAH Music Leadership Award 

Recognises a female CEO, Managing Director, Label Manager, A&R Director, Artist Manager or Publisher making significant impact in music industry leadership. 

WINNER - Jen Cloher 

 SSI Diversity in Music Award 

Recognises individual artists or female-driven musical collaborations for their contribution to advancing a culturally diverse and inclusive music industry. 

WINNER - Mission Songs Project 

AWMA Studio Production Award 

Recognises a female sound engineer or producer who has made contributions of outstanding significance in the studio recording environment. 

WINNER - Anna Laverty 

Canon Australia Music Photographer Award 

Recognises a female music photographer currently working in the field and to acknowledge her body of work. 

WINNER - Wendy McDougall 

Spotify Creative Leadership Award 

A curatorial award recognising excellence in creative programming and/or content creation from a woman working in a music festival, live performance/venue or media setting to champion female artists. 

WINNER - Zoe Hauptmann 

CICADA International Breakthrough Artist Award 

Recognises a female artist who has had a significant breakthrough impact nationally in the past 12 months. 

TIED WINNERS - Camp Cope and Amy Shark 

Twitter Australia Artistic Excellence Award 

Recognises exceptional creative achievement from a female artist/musician across any genre. 

WINNER - Ngaiire 

Canon Australia Film-maker Award 

Recognises a female music videographer, clip-maker or film-maker currently working in the field and to acknowledge her body of work. 

WINNER - Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore 

AWMA Live Production Award 

Recognises a female working in a live production or touring environment making significant impact in her field: Includes Tour Management, Live Sound, Lighting, Backstage and Roadcrew. 

WINNER - Robyn Jelleff  

The Calile Hotel Musical Excellence Award 

Recognises exceptional musicianship from a female musician across any genre. 

TIED WINNERS - Lydia Davies and Nerida Tyson-Chew 

QUT Creative Industries Faculty Educator Award 

Recognises an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and/or to empowering Indigenous female artists in remote and regional communities. 

WINNER - Dr Anita Collins 

CAAMA Auriel Andrew Memorial Award 

Recognises a true pioneer of Aboriginal women in music. 

WINNER – Deborah Cheetham AO 

Industry Observer Lifetime Achievement Award 

Presented to a female artist or musician who has made outstanding artistic contribution to the field of recording and/or live performance during her lifetime. 

WINNERS - Renée Geyer, Patricia 'Little Patty' Amphlett, Margret RoadKnight