Soul pop singer-songwriter Caiti Baker won big at this weekend's sixth annual NT Song Of The Year Awards.

Baker, who in the past has collaborated with Briggs and AB Original, garnered three trophies on the night. Her song Heavy On My Heart took top honours in the Best Blues & Roots category (written with James Mangohig) while her track Make Your Own Mistakes (the video was premiered by back in January) took out both the Pop category as well as the event's overall Song Of The Year award.

This year's ceremony saw thirteen awards handed out by organisers MusicNT at the Museum & Art Gallery Of NT on Saturday night where Baker performed alongside other Song Of The Year finalists. 

Mark Smith, Executive Director of MusicNT - the territory's peak body for contemporary music — hailed the night as "a celebration of great songwriting from across the Territory." He praised Baker and her fellow nominees for "putting the Northern Territory on the map.”

Other category winners on the night included:

Youth — Kevin by Serina Pech
Country — Kakadu by Dhapanbal Yunupingu
Tourism NT Territory Song — Northern Residential by Huu Loc Nguyen (performed by Col Infinity)
Folk — Compass by David Yunupingu, Charlie Yunupingu (performed by Saltwater Band)
Heavy — Thumbtack by Callum Munro, Craig Ninness, Sam Washusen, Shane Jovanovic (performed by Clever Monkey)
Urban/Hip hop  — Cloud 9 by Danzal Baker, Kian Brownfield (performed by Baker Boy feat Kian)
Electronic/Dance Those Moments by Ermin Nurovic (performed by Pulzanti)
Rock — Drop It Down Girl by Ambrose Daniels, Kasley Daniels, Bert Rami (performed by Lonely Boys)
Native Tongue Award — Cloud 9 by Danzal Baker, Kian Brownfield (performed by Baker Boy feat Kian)
APRA's People's Choice  — Castaway by Phoebe Wear

This year also saw two new inductees into the Hall Of Fame — Skinny Fish Music's Michael Hohnen and retired principal of the NT Music School Nora Lewis. Smith welcomed the inductees, adding "Both Nora and Michael have brought passion and commitment to supporting musicians both young and old. ”

Taking out the top award means Baker joins an impressive list of previous NT Song Of The Year winners including Dave Graham, David Crowe, Shellie Morris and Ben Allen.

Lime Cordiale + Caiti Baker + Dubarray + The Ruiins + Ivy + Cornstalk + The Kava Kings + Night Kite + Emily Wurramara + Tay Oskee + The Hillbilly Goats + Declan Kelly & The Rising Sun
Wollombi Music Festival, Wollombi