Darwin's historic Amphitheatre will ring out with the sounds of some of the country's finest musicians this August for the 2017 National Indigenous Music Awards, with organisers today revealing a stellar line-up of artists from around the nation.

Leading the charge are hip hop heroes A.B. Original, in the midst of a simply massive year, who will be joined by Dan Sultan for their performance, as well as appearances from iconic Australian singer-songwriter Paul Kelly, rising troubadour and 2016 NIMA winner Gawurra, QMA-winning songstress Emily Wurramara, acclaimed performer Leah Flanagan and outfits Numbulwar Red Flag Dancers, Electric Fields and Apakatjah.

"We are excited to announce this year's line-up that brings together some of the country's leading acts as well as some exciting new talent," Music NT Executive Director Mark Smith said in a statement. "Securing A.B. Original, with Dan Sultan, and Paul Kelly is a major coup for the event and for Darwin, and we can't wait to see them up on stage with some of the most exciting talent in the country."

Nominations for this year's event are still open — they close on 23 June — and, given the obvious vibrancy and vitality of the national Indigenous music scene in 2017, this year's awards ought to be an especially exciting affair to behold.

In honour of that brilliance both now and in years gone by, the NIMAs have collaborated with Warner Music Australia to release a double CD filled with modern and all-time great songs by the nation's Indigenous songwriters, including the likes of Yothu Yindi, Archie Roach, Jimmy Little, Christine Anu, No Fixed Address and more.

The 14th National Indigenous Music Awards will be held on Saturday 12 August.

See the event's website for more information.