Cable Ties — Cable Ties (Poison City Records)

Cable Ties have proved without doubt that "they lose zero heat from the stage to the studio and their debut LP burns like a slap in the face". Working together, drummer Shauna Boyle and bassist Nick Brown "will have you hooked by both ears in five seconds or less", trundling on "with the mesmerising inevitability of a landslide". We gave it four-and-a-half stars and our Album Of The Week.

In Hearts Wake — Ark (UNFD)

An album "with a distinct theme; water, and its necessity to humankind", Ark is "an all-out aural assault". The tracks create "a series of dense, quality and, importantly, accessible tracks", with even a ballad on the album in Arrow: "sure to alienate fans of the band's harder sound". We gave it four stars.

Bernard Fanning — Brutal Dawn (Dew Process/Universal)

Brutal Dawn "feels like a step in the right direction" after Departures and Civil Dusk feeling like weren't "quite memorable enough to compete with his best works". This is "potentially the best work he's delivered since his debut" with "an unpredictable air to the album's instrumental arrangements that proves entrancing". We gave it four stars.

and the rest of the releases…

Alestorm No Grave But The Sea (Napalm Records/Rocket)
Avatarium — Hurricanes And Halos (Nuclear Blast)
Ben Ottewell  A Man Apart (Cooking Vinyl)
Burden — Shadows Of The Dying (Independent)
Cookin' On 3 Burners  Lab Experiments Vol. 1: Mixin (Independent)
Crescent — Resin Pockets (Geographic Music/Domino)
Danzig  Black Laden Crown (Evilive Records/Nuclear Blast)
Dream Evil — Six (Century Media)
Edie Green The Sea It Binds You (Firestarter Distribution)
FERLA  Guilt Pop/Stay Posi (Our Golden Friend)
Frenzal Rhomb — Hi-Vis High Tea (Independent)
James Vincent McMorrow — True Care (Dew Process/Universal)
Joy In Motion Falling Out (Independent)
Justin Townes Earle — Kids In The Street (New West/Warner)
Kilbey Kennedy Glow And Fade (Golden Robot Records)
Kyle Lionhart — Eleven & Two (Ivy League)
Le Pie — Sad Girl Theory (Independent)
Leah Senior  Pretty Faces (Flightless/Remote Control)
Lil Yachty  Teenage Emotions (EMI)
Mabel — Bedroom (Polydor/Universal)
Orsome Welles — Rise (Independent)
Solstafir — Berdreyminn (Season Of Mist)
The Amazons — The Amazons (Fiction/Caroline)
The Basics In The Rude (Independent)
The Charlatans Different Days (BMG/Liberator)
Various Artists Cover Your Ass Vol. 1 (Lionfish Music)