This year has seen some absolutely groundbreaking Aussie releases and with end-of-year lists flooding the country, the longlist for the Australian Music Prize has been unveiled, giving another glimpse at how healthy the county’s music scene is.

Judges sifted through 364 records to narrow it down to 61 – five more than made the cut last year – with Aussie music icons Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and Archie Roach named alongside buzzing newcomers Camp Cope and DD Dumbo, all in the running for the $30,000 prize money.

Last year’s honours went to Courtney Barnett‘s Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit, while Remi claimed the prize the year prior and reappears this year with his acclaimed Divas & Demons LP.

Other former AMP recipients in the longlist include Big Scary, returning after a 2013 win, and inaugural AMP winners The Drones.

The judges included Dave Faulkner (Hoodoo Gurus), Al Grigg (Palms) and Phil Jamieson (Grinspoon), Mikey Cahill, The Music's Melbourne editor Bryget Chrisfield, Sosefina Fuamoli, Kate Hennessy, Caitlin Nienaber, Sarah Smith and Bernard Zuel, Chris Berkley, Mike Glynn, Shannon Logan and Nate Nott.

“The Australian Music Prize has never been so sprawling,” said Jamieson.

“It has been rewarding but also somewhat exhausting…hope you love our longlist as much as we do.”

A shortlist will be announced on January 18 before the winner is crowded in March.

The 12th Annual AMP Longlist includes:

AB Original - Reclaim Australia

Archie Roach - Let Love Rule

The Avalanches - Wildflower

Big Scary - Animal

Big White - Teenage Dreams

Camp Cope - Camp Cope

Cash Savage & the Last Drinks - One Of Us

Chook Race - Around The House

Curse Ov Dialect - Twisted Strangers

DD Dumbo - Utopia Defeated

Deborah Conway/Willy Zygier - Everybody's Begging

The Delta Riggs - Active Galactic

Dope Lemon - Honey Bones

Dorsal Fins - Digital Zodiac

The Drones - Feelin’ Kinda Free

Ducks! - Ding Ding Ding

Ela Stiles - Molten Metal

Emma Russack - In A New State

Flume - Skin

friendships - Nullarbor 1988 - 1989

Gabriella Cohen - Full Closure And No Detail

Gawurra - Ratja Yaliyal

Gentleforce - Refuge From The Great Sadness

Halfway - The Golden Halfway Record

Jagwar Ma - Every Now & Then

Jarrow - 2003 Dream

The Jezabels - Synthia

Julia Jacklin - Don't Let The Kids Win

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard - Nonagon Infinity

Koi Child - Koi Child

Liz Stringer - All Of The Bridges

Marcus Whale - Inland Sea

Mark Pritchard - Under The Sun

Melody Pool - Deep Dark Savage Heart

Mike Noga - King

The Moles - Tonight’s Music

Mt. Mountain - Cosmos Terros

The Nation Blue - Black

NGAIIRE - Blastoma

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Skeleton Tree

NO ZU - Afterlife

Olympia - Self Talk

Pale Earth - Always

The Peep Tempel - Joy

Pikelet - Tronc

Rainbow Chan - Spacings

REMI - Divas & Demons

Richard Cuthbert - Peach Plum

Safe Hands - Tie Your Soul To Mine

Sara Storer - Silos

Sarah Mary Chadwick - Roses Always Die

Solo Andata - In The Lens

Sophie Hutchings - Wide Asleep

Stu Hunter - The Migration

Summer Flake - Hello Friends

Teeth & Tongue - ‘Give Up On Your Health

Troy Cassar-Daley - 'Things I Carry Around

Twelve Foot Ninja - Outlier

Urthboy - The Past Beats Inside Me Like A Second Heartbeat

Violent Soho - WACO

Yeo - Ganbaru

For more information, see the AMP's website.