BIGSOUND Celebrates 10 Years With First 2011 Announcement

Australia’s biggest celebration of breaking artists and industry networking launched its tenth year in style, with a stellar first announcement of speakers unveiled Thursday night at Sydney’s Raval as tickets went on sale.

This year’s event, to be held from September 7-9 in Brisbane’s Fortitude Valley live music precinct, has drawn international industry identities including Creation Records & Poptones founder Alan McGee (Oasis, Primal Scream, The Hives); ie:music’s David Enthoven & Tim Clark (Robbie Williams, Jimmy Page, Ladyhawke); Matador Record’s Natalie Judge (Cat Power, Sonic Youth); Frenchkiss Records’ Paul Hanley (Passion Pit, The Dodos, Local Natives); and Paradigm Talent Agency’s Kevin French (The Decemberists, The National).

BIGSOUND has also announced its first national speakers, including an exclusive domestic keynote by Warner Music boss Tony Harlow, to coincide with his first anniversary at the helm of the label.

As the event turns ten, the focus is squarely on BIGSOUND Live, the event that’s quickly become the hottest ticket of the year for A&R with the last few years delivering unforgettable performances from the likes of The Temper Trap, Washington, Cloud Control, The Naked & Famous, Little Red, The Middle East, The Jezabels, Hungry Kids of Hungary, Boy & Bear, Bob Evans, Children Collide, Dan Kelly, Bertie Blackman, The John Steel Singers and many more.

Last year’s BIGSOUND Live sold out, with six stages, and over 4000 attending over two nights.

With artist showcase applications open now, the rumour-­mill is already pondering who this year’s big discoveries will be.

 "BIGSOUND has an undeniable natural momentum,” said BIGSOUND programmer Graham Ashton. “That, along with the calibre of artists we are attracting leaves us confident the 10th anniversary will prove to be a unique gathering of the tribe for the music community both locally and internationally. The speakers in a our first announcement are certainly a testament to this."


 Alan McGee – ex Creation Records / Poptones (UK)

Tony Harlow – Warner Music (AUS)

David Enthoven – ie:music (UK)

Tim Clark – ie:music (UK)

Natalie Judge – Matador Records (UK)

Kevin French – Paradigm Agency (USA)

Paul Hanly – Frenchkiss Records (USA)

Damian Trotter – Sony / ATV Publishing (AUS)

Andy Kelly – Winterman & Goldstein / Ivy League (AUS)

Jaddan Comerford – UNFD (AUS)

Iain Shedden – The Australian (AUS)

Andy Kent – You Am I / Love Police (AUS)

Kristy Ryan – Secret Sounds (AUS)

Mary Mihelakos – Stage Mothers (AUS)